James H. “Jimmy” Doolittle Award

The 2017 Doolittle Award recipient was the 432nd Wing, Creech AFB, Nevada. The Award was accepted by the Wing Commander, Colonel Julian Cheater, in ceremonies conducted at the Air Force Memorial on January 30, 2018

The Air Force Historical Foundation’s newest honor – its James H. “Jimmy” Doolittle Award – was established to recognize a unit that has displayed bravery, determination, discipline, esprit de corps, and superior management of joint operations while accomplishing its mission under extremely difficult and hazardous conditions in multiple conflicts, and thus has made a sustained, significant contribution to Air Force history.

It is named after aviation pioneer James H. Doolittle – who served as a brigadier general, major general and lieutenant general in the United States Army Air Forces during World War II, and earned the Medal of Honor for valor and leadership as commander of the famous Doolittle Raid.

James H. Doolittle Award Winners

The inaugural Doolittle Award being presented to Colonel Patrick. J. Doherty, Commander of the 4th Fighter Wing, Seymour-Johnson Air Force Base, North Carolina by Assistant Vice Chief of Staff Lt Gen Richard Y. Newton III.