July 7, 1942

  Flying a Lockheed Vega A-29 Hudson, Lt Harry J. Kane and crew of the 396th Bomb Squadron attack and sink German sub U-701 off Cherry […]

July 6, 1953

Operation KINDERLIFT. USAFE begins airlift of children from Berlin to West Germany for a summer in German and American homes.

July 5, 1912

Capt Charles DeForest Chandler, Lt Thomas DeWitt Milling, and Lt Henry H. Arnold became the first qualified “Military Aviators.” They receive their badges on 6 […]

July 4, 1942

  The Flying Tigers join the Army Air Forces as the 23rd Fighter Group, Col Robert L. Scott Jr commanding.

July 3, 1949

The USAF gives the B-29 Enola Gay, the plane that dropped the atomic bomb on Hiroshima, to the Smithsonian Institute.

June 29, 1955

1965: Capt Joseph Engle qualifies as a military astronaut by flying the X-15 No. 3 to 280,600 feet at 3,432 MPH (Mach 4.94)

June 28, 1950

1950: Korean War. 1Lt Bryce Poe II, in an RF-80A, flies the USAF’s first jet combat reconnaissance mission, photographing the North Korean advance.

June 27, 1995

1995: For the first time a Space Shuttle, the Atlantis, visits the Russian Mir space station.

June 26, 1996

  1994: A 60 AW C-5 from Travis AFB flew a 34-ton Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) machine to Chernobyl, Ukraine. There, medical specialists use the […]