General Carl “Tooey” Spaatz Award

AFHF President Chris Miller and Chief of Staff General David Goldfein present the Spaatz Award to General John P. Jumper, USAF (Ret) at the 2019 Awards Banquet. 

The Air Force Historical Foundation’s General Carl “Tooey” Spaatz Award was created in 2007 for recognition of sustained, significant contributions to the making of Air Force history during a lifetime of service.

It is named after Carl Andrew Spaatz, who flew in combat during the First World War, shooting down three enemy aircraft. He was the aircraft commander of the Question Mark during a historic 1929 flight that demonstrated the feasibility of in-flight refueling.

General Spaatz planned for rapid expansion of the Air Corps, observed first-hand the Battle of Britain, and commanded the Eighth Air Force during the first year of World War II. He commanded allied air forces for the invasion of North Africa, commanded the United States Strategic Air Forces for the invasion of Europe until the end of the European war, and then commanded United States Strategic Air Forces in the Pacific.

General Spaatz became Commanding General, U.S. Army Air Forces, and upon creation of the United States Air Force, became its first Chief of Staff, retiring in 1948. He was a founder of the Air Force Historical Foundation in 1953 and was its first President.

Spaatz Award Recipients

  • 2019: Gen. John P. Jumper, USAF (Ret)
  • 2018: Mr. Sherman N. Mullin
  • 2017: General Richard B. Myers, USAF (Ret)
  • 2016: Dr. Donald B. Rice
  • 2015: Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF (Ret)
  • 2014: Gen. Lloyd W. Newton, USAF (Ret)
  • 2013: Gen. John A. Shaud, USAF (Ret).
  • 2011: Lt. Gen. James Clapper, USAF (Ret), Director of National Intelligence
  • 2010: Gen. Larry D. Welch, USAF (Ret)
  • 2009: Lt. Gen. Thomas P. Stafford, USAF (Ret)
  • 2008: Maj. Gen. John R. Alison, USAF (Ret)
  • 2007: Gen. David C. Jones, USAF (Ret)