Major General I.B. Holley Award

R Cargill Hall accepts the 2019 Holley Award from AFHF President Chris Miller

Created in 2007, this award honors a sustained, significant contribution to the documentation of Air Force history during a lifetime of service.  Its inaugural presentation was to Maj. Gen. Holley (ret.) as a tribute his decades of assistance, support and encouragement to military historians.

Maj. Gen. Holley had been a visiting professor at the U.S. Military Academy and had taught military history, the history of technology, and other subjects at Duke University since 1947.

He was a Distinguished Professor Emeritus, and was chosen to receive the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1989.

Gen. Holley wrote books, papers, articles, essays, reviews, and critiques for six decades, and demonstrated a professional interest in historical subjects as far apart as the American highway revolution, air weapons development and acquisition, and intellectual history.

I.B Holley Award Winners

  • 2019: R Cargill Hall
  • 2018: Lt Gen John L. “Jack” Hudson
  • 2017: Mr. Keith Ferris
  • 2016: Dr. Mark A. Clodfelter
  • 2015: Dr. Richard P. Hallion
  • 2014: Col. Walter J. Boyne
  • 2013: Mr. Jacob Neufeld
  • 2011: Mr. Joseph Caver
  • 2010: Dr. Alan Gropman
  • 2009: Mr. Herman S. Wolk
  • 2008: Brig. Gen. Alfred F. Hurley, USAF (Ret)
  • 2007: Maj. Gen. (Distinguished Professor Emeritus) I. B. Holley, Jr, USAF (Ret)