2016 Spaatz Award Ceremony

spaatz award

November 9, 2016

The Air Force Historical Foundation (AFHF) went cross-country to deliver its prestigious General Carl A. “Tooey” Spaatz Award – named after one of the organization’s founders and its first President – during a very special gathering at the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado on Thursday, November 3rd. With the spectacular Center for Character and Leadership Development as a backdrop, the event honored Dr. Donald B. Rice, 17th Secretary of the U.S. Air Force (1989-93), for his sustained, significant contributions to Air Force history during a lifetime of service.

The Air Force Historical Foundation’s Spaatz Award was created in 2007, with the inaugural honor given to Gen. David C. Jones, USAF (Ret) – beginning a succession of highly-esteemed recipients. This list includes: Maj. Gen. John R. Alison, USAF (Ret), 2008; Lt. Gen. Thomas P. Stafford, USAF (Ret), 2009; Gen. Larry D. Welch, USAF (Ret), 2010; Lt. Gen. James Clapper, USAF (Ret), 2011; Gen. John A. Shaud, USAF (Ret), 2013; Gen. Lloyd W. Newton, USAF (Ret), 2014; and Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF (Ret), 2015.

spaatz awardDonald B. Rice was the 17th secretary of the Air Force. He was born in Frederick, Md., in 1939. He earned a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1961, a master’s degree in industrial management in 1962, and a doctorate in economics in 1965, both from Purdue University. He was awarded three honorary degrees: doctor of engineering by Notre Dame in 1975, doctor of management by Purdue in 1985 and doctor of laws by Pepperdine University in 1989. From June 1965 to June 1967, he served on active duty as first lieutenant and then captain in the U.S. Army. In April 1972 Rice became president and chief executive officer of The RAND Corp., an independent, nonprofit, public service institution which conducts research and analysis on problems of national security and domestic affairs, and doctoral degree programs in several fields of public policy. He served in that capacity until May 1989, resigning to accept appointment by President Bush as secretary of the Air Force.

Dr. Rice held many other significant posts both in at out of government service. Included are Member, National Science Board, 1974-86; Chairman, National Commission on Supplies & Shortages, 1975-77; Director, Defense Resource Management Study, 1977-79; Member, Independent Bomber Force Review Commission, 1997; Member, Panel to Review Long Range Air Power, 1998; Member, U.S. Commission on National Security/21st Century, 1999-2001.